

ORDER PAPER

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

SECOND SESSION OF 2018 – 2023

OF

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

ORDER PAPER

SEVENTEENTH SITTING

Friday, 23rd April, 2021

SECOND SESSION OF 2018–2023

SEVENTEENTH SITTING

at

11.00 o'clock a.m.

on

Friday, 23rd April, 2021

The First Meeting of the First Session of the Parliament of 2018-2023 was held on 5th June, 2018

Parliament was prorogued by Proclamation on 8th August, 2020

The First Meeting of the Second Session of the Parliament of 2018-2023 was held on the 15th September, 2020.

Government Printing Department Barbados.

MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10 – Section 3(4))

The following are ex officio Members of the Commission:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C., Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Section 3(4) of the Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10.

The following are appointed Members of the Commission:

Hon. C. E. Jordan, Dr. S. E. Browne and Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill.

Hon. D. D. Marshall, Q.C.

Appointed on 15th September, 2020.

SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

To consider and report to the Honourable the House of Assembly on all matters which involve the privileges of the Honourable the House of Assembly.

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman) ex officio, Lt. Col. the Hon. J. D. Bostic, Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, Mr. N. G. H. Rowe, Hon. Miss C. Y. Forde, and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Appointed on 15th September, 2020.

PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

To examine the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, accounts of any entities in which Government is a majority shareholder or hold a majority interest and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the Committee may think fit.

The Members of the Committee are:

Bishop J. J. S. Atherley (Chairman) ex officio, Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands, Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Dr. S. E. Browne, Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill and Hon. K. D. Symmonds.

Appointed on 15th September, 2020.

STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman) ex officio, Mr. G. W. Payne, Q.C., Hon. R. St. C. Toppin, Hon. K. D. Symmonds, Hon. W. A. Abrahams, Bishop J. J. S. Atherley, Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, Lt. Col. the Hon. J. D. Bostic and Mr. R. A. Thorne, Q.C.

Appointed on 15th September, 2020.

His Honour N. G. H. Rowe, J.P.

Appointed on 17th November, 2020.

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. A. R. Forde, Hon. R. R. Straughn, Hon. J. A. King, Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill and Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle.

Appointed on 15th September, 2020.

QUESTIONS

N.B. Questions marked thus * are for Oral Reply.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

(Standing Order 10 of the First Session)

"Unless the House otherwise directs, the business of each sitting day shall be transacted in the following order –

- (a) Formal entry of His Honour the Speaker.
- (b) Prayers.
- (c) Announcements by His Honour the Speaker.
- (d) Messages from Her Excellency the Governor-General.
- (e) Petitions.
- (f) Papers.
- (g) Government Notices.
- (h) Private Members' Notices.
- (i) Notices of Questions.
- (j) Reports from Select Committees.
- (k) First readings of Bills.
- (1) Statements by Ministers.
- (m) Congratulatory and/or obituary speeches.
- (n) Personal Explanations.
- (o) Motions for leave of absence.
- (p) Oral replies to questions.
- (q) Notices of motions for the adjournment of the House on matters of urgent public importance.
- (r) Orders of the day."

No. 17

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

1. Hon. D. D. Marshall: To move the passing of a Resolution to extend the public health emergency in accordance with the Emergency Management Act, Cap. 160A.